Biography

Yulia Deyneka is a versatile musician with tenure as a professor at the Barenboim-Said Academy and principal viola of the Berlin Staatskapelle. She is frequently heard as a soloist with various orchestras, most recently in Schnittke’s Viola Concerto under the direction of Andris Nelsons and alongside Wolfram Brandl in Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante under Daniel Barenboim. For more than ten years, she has been involved with the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra, whose viola section was under her tutelage. Since the autumn of 2016, Yulia Deyneka is a fixed member of the Boulez Ensemble, which is resident in the newly built Pierre Boulez Hall in Berlin. She is also a member of the String Quartet of the Berlin Staatskapelle, which started its own concert cycle at the Pierre Boulez Hall in the fall of 2017. Over the last ten years she has received significant musical inspiration from conductors such as Pierre Boulez, Zubin Mehta and Simon Rattle and also from soloists such as Martha Argerich, Yo-Yo Ma, Gidon Kremer, Maurizio Pollini, Radu Lupu and Yefim Bronfman.

During the 2017/18 season Yulia Deyneka, together with Misha Maisky, will perform Strauss’ Don Quixote with the orchestra of the Komische Oper Berlin under the baton of Massimo Zanetti. Additionally, Yulia will have several performances with the Staatskapelle Berlin String Quartet at the Pierre Boulez Hall in Berlin. They will present all of Schubert’s string quartets as well as quintets with established soloists, such as the soprano Christiane Karg and the cellist Frans Helmerson. Together with Emmanuel Pahud and Aline Khouri, Yulia will perform Debussy’s Trio-Sonata in honor of the composer’s 100th anniversary. Besides she is playing a commissioned work by Aribert Reimann for viola, countertenor and piano with Daniel Barenboim.

During the previous season, Yulia Deyneka made a double debut as soloist at the Carnegie Hall in New York and at the Philharmonie de Paris, where she performed Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante with Wolfram Brandl and the Berlin Staatskapelle, under the baton of Daniel Barenboim. Furthermore during the same season she appeared in numerous concerts as part of the big opening of the Pierre Boulez Hall, with artists such as Michael Barenboim, Kian Soltani, Francois-Xavier Roth and Daniel Barenboim, among others. Highlights of the 2015/16 season include an entire Brahms cycle with musicians from the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as the premiere of Pierre Boulez’s Derive II with members of the West-Eastern Divan Orchestra for the opening of the Philharmonie de Paris in January of 2015.

Since her childhood, chamber music has played an intrinsic part in Yulia Deyneka’s artistic development and nowadays remains a significant feature in her musical career. Chamber music partners have included Boris Brovtsyn, Guy Braunstein, Janine Jansen, Sergey Krylov, Vadim Repin, Denis Matsuev and Jörg Widmann. Yulia enjoys a longstanding musical bond with Daniel Barenboim. Together, they have performed the major sonatas of the viola repertoire, as well as significant chamber music works with piano.

For Yulia Deyneka it is a great responsibility to pass on her extensive experience and musical knowledge to young musicians. From 2006-2011 she taught at the Barenboim-Said Foundation Academy in Seville and is currently mentoring the members of the Berlin Staatskapelle’s Orchestral Academy.

Yulia was born on the Russian island of Sakhalin in 1982 and later grew up in Moscow. She studied at the renowned Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow with Alexander Bobrovsky, at the Rostock University of Music and Drama with Felix Schwartz, and also at the Berlin University of the Arts with Wilfried Strehle where she obtained her soloist diploma.

Biografie

Yulia Deyneka ist eine vielseitige Kammermusikerin, Dozentin an der Barenboim-Said Akademie und Solo-Bratschistin der Staatskapelle Berlin. Auch solistisch ist sie immer wieder mit verschiedenen Orchestern zu erleben, wie in Alfred Schnittkes Konzert für Viola unter der Leitung von Andris Nelsons oder an der Seite von Wolfram Brandl in Mozarts Sinfonia Concertante unter Daniel Barenboim. Für mehr als 10 Jahren engagierte sie sich im West-Eastern Divan Orchester, dessen Bratschengruppe sie auch betreute. Seit Herbst 2016 ist Yulia Deyneka festes Mitglied im Boulez Ensemble, das im neu erbauten Pierre Boulez Saal ansässig ist. In den letzten 10 Jahren sammelte sie zudem wichtige musikalische Impulse von Dirigenten wie Pierre Boulez, Zubin Mehta und Simon Rattle sowie von Solisten wie Martha Argerich, Yo-Yo Ma, Gidon Kremer, Maurizio Pollini, Radu Lupu und Yefim Bronfman.

In der Saison 2017/18 wird Yulia Deyneka als Solistin an der Seite von Misha Maisky (Don Quixote) mit dem Orchester der Komischen Oper Berlin unter der Leitung von Massimo Zanetti auftreten. Ebenfalls wird sie als Mitglied des Streichquartetts der Staatskapelle Berlin Konzerte im Rahmen eines eigenen Schubert-Zyklus im Pierre Boulez Saal in Berlin spielen. Dabei werden alle Streichquartette Schuberts, sowie Quintette mit herausragenden Gastsolisten wie der Sopranistin Christiane Karg und dem Cellisten Frans Helmerson präsentiert. Außerdem wird sie zusammen mit Emmanuel Pahud und Aline Khouri an Debussy’s 100. Todestag seine Trio-Sonate aufführen. Daneben ist Yulia bei einem Auftragswerk von Aribert Reimann für Bratsche, Countertenor und Klavier mit Daniel Barenboim involviert.

Letzte Spielzeit gab Yulia Deyneka ein zweifaches Debüt als Solistin in der Carnegie Hall New York und in der Pariser Philharmonie mit der Staatskapelle Berlin (Mozart’s Sinfonia Concertante) unter der Leitung von Daniel Barenboim. Außerdem wirkte sie im März 2017 bei zahlreichen Konzerten zur Eröffnung des Pierre Boulez Saales in Berlin mit. Hierbei trat sie unter anderem mit Michael Barenboim, Kian Soltani, Francois-Xavier Roth und Daniel Barenboim auf. Highlights der Saison 2015/16 waren ein gesamter Brahms-Zyklus mit Musikern der Berliner Philharmonikern und die Eröffnung der Pariser Philharmonie im Januar 2015 mit Boulez‘ Derive II mit Mitgliedern des West-Eastern Divan Orchesters. Auch in der Carnegie Hall in New York brillierte sie kürzlich bei der Aufführung dieses Werkes mit dem Boulez Ensemble.

Kammermusik spielt für Yulia Deyneka schon seit frühen Jahren eine zentrale Rolle in ihrem künstlerischen Werdegang und ist immer noch ein wesentlicher Bestandteil ihres beruflichen Lebens. Als Kammermusikpartnerin spielte sie u.a. mit Boris Brovtsyn, Guy Braunstein, Janine Jansen, Sergey Krylov, Vadim Repin, Denis Matsuev und Jörg Widmann. Mit Daniel Barenboim verbindet sie eine langjährige musikalische Zusammenarbeit, mit ihm hat sie sowohl die wichtigsten Sonaten des Bratschenrepertoires, als auch die großen Werke der Klavierkammermusik aufgeführt.

Yulia Deyneka empfindet es als ihre künstlerische Verantwortung, ihre weitreichenden Erfahrungen und ihr musikalisches Wissen durch die Ausbildung von jungen Musikern weiterzugeben. So hat sie von 2006 -2011 an der Musikakademie der Barenboim-Said-Stiftung in Sevilla unterrichtet und ist seit 2016 Dozentin an der Barenboim-Said Akademie in Berlin. Auch bei der Staatskapelle Berlin betreut sie Absolventen der Orchesterakademie.

Yulia wurde 1982 auf der russischen Insel Sakhalin geboren und wuchs in Moskau auf. Sie studierte zunächst bei Prof. Alexander Bobrovsky am Moskauer Tschaikowsky-Konservatorium, ihr Diplom erwarb sie an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater Rostock bei Felix Schwartz und absolvierte ihr Konzertexamen bei Wilfried Strehle an der Universität der Künste Berlin.